Coda – There is a Way to Fly


7 in stock (can be backordered)

SKU: TN181-6 Category:


Described as a soundscape to a fantastical dream, CODA’s music consistently transcends boundaries, and is a compelling mix of classical, far-eastern, rock and electronica. This collective of classically trained musicians performs with mastery, dressed in quirky headwear and outfits that transport audiences to a magical world. CODA’s performances are always uplifting cinematic musical experiences, often enhanced with theatrics, dance and costumes, making them one of the most innovative and visually spectacular music acts nationally and abroad. From playing at festivals such as the Big Day Out, Adelaide Festival and Woodford, to performing and recording with artists such as Josh Pyke, Gomez, Lior (Autumn Flow), avant-garde group Synergy Percussion and on Toni Collette’s forthcoming album, they are leaving their indelible footprint on the Australian music landscape.

CODA offers a unique musical approach fusing classical strings with contemporary music. CODA has successfully toured nationally and internationally for the past twelve years. CODA strings have performed, recorded and toured with a myriad of artists ranging from Powderfinger, Superjesus, Leonardo’s Bride, paulmac, Pollyanna, Savage Garden, Antenna Jonathan Richman and Pnau to name just a few. They have also performed for over 600 schools over the past five years for Musica Viva as well as The Big Day Out Sydney Festival, Woodford Folk festival, Glenworth Valley, The Opera House studio space and Bennelong Restaurant, as well as fashion shows for Wayne Cooper and Akira Isogawa.

A fusion of strings, grooves and lush Bohemian textures signify CODA’s sound. An album that refuses to be categorised, however, comparisons can be made to Buddha Bar, Laurie Anderson, Natascha Atlas, Café Del Mar and Michael Nyman.
String textures feature heavily on this laid back album fusing with chilled out beats and evolving soundscapes that constantly unfold to tell CODA’s evocative musical story. Classical and Middle eastern undertones are also sprinkled throughout this beautiful album.
As the international Music industry struggles to come to terms with the dramatic shifts in popular taste, there seems to be a definite swing towards live musicianship fused with electronic exploration.
CODA is an ambassador for these changes.
• Licensed internationally by Exceptional Records (UK)
• Theme Music for ABC Radio ‘Wisdom Report’
• ARIA Nomination ‘Best World Music Album 2002’

Track Listing:
1. La Chasse
2. Kawaii
3. Latin Quarter
4. JR Boulevard
5. Cabin Fever
6. Salut
7. Born, Never Asked
8. Tangled Angel
9. NYC 1953
10. Lucky 7
11. Gonna Run U Over

Nick Wales, viola, electronics, grand piano, bass, viola, Veronique Serret, violin, Jared Underwood, drums, djembe, percussion, Naomi Radomishelsky, melodian, violin, Matthew Steffen, bass, K.I.M., marimba, darabucca, vibraphone, Wurlitzer.



Additional information

Weight .200 kg
Dimensions 21 × 15 × 1.0 cm

You may also like…